EU Territorial Programmes
Navigate Up
Sign In

EU Territorial Programmes


The European Territorial Cooperation Programmes 2014-2020 aim at encouraging cooperation in Europe as well as exchanging knowledge and best practices across Member States and regions. These programmes are funded by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) under the Cohesion Policy 2014-2020.

Malta's Participation in Territorial Cooperation Programmes

Under the 2014-2020 programming period, Malta is participating in the following Territorial Cooperation Programmes:

The Interreg V-A Italia-Malta Programme: 
a cross-border programme which covers the Maltese Islands and several regions in Sicily. This Programme aims to reinforce sustainable growth at the cross-border level with a particular focus on the Research & Innovation sectors, foster the competitiveness of small and medium-sized enterprises, protect the environment as well as promoting actions which mitigate the effects of climate change whilst also addressing the area’s natural and anthropic risks. 

The Interreg Med Programmea transnational programme which promotes cooperation between Mediterranean regions in ten EU Member States, namely: Croatia, Cyprus, France, Greece, Italy, Malta, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, UK (Gibraltar), as well as three EU Candidate Countries, Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina & Montenegro. This programme focuses on strengthening research, technological development and innovation. It also supports low-carbon economies, environment and resource efficiency.

The Interreg Europe Programme: 
this interregional programme covers the whole territory of the European Union, Norway and Switzerland, and its aim is to help European regions in the drafting and implementation of regional policies and Programmes, in particular the EU Structural and Investment Funds Programmes for Growth and Jobs, and also, where relevant, the Programmes under the European Territorial Cooperation (ETC) goal.

The Interact III Programme: which provides practical support, training and advice to European Territorial Cooperation programmes on management techniques, financial issues, European regulations, communication, strategic orientation and policy development. 

Malta is also participating in the ENI CBC MED Programme​, which is a multilateral Cross-Border Cooperation Programme funded under the European Neighbourhood and Partnership Instrument. This Programme seeks to reinforce cooperation between the European Union and partner countries along the shores of the Mediterranean Sea. The fourteen participating countries eligible under this Programme are: Algeria, Cyprus, Egypt, France, Greece, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Lebanon, Malta, Palestine, Portugal, Spain, and Tunisia.​​​​​​​​​​