Interreg IIIB Archimed Programme 2004-2006
Navigate Up
Sign In

Interreg IIIB Archimed Programme 2004-2006

The Interreg IIIB Archimed Programme is one of four Interreg III Programmes in which Malta has been participating actively since it joined the EU in 2004. Archimed is funded by the European Regional Development Fund 2004-2006. Archimed Logo
The Archimed Programme aims to facilitate interventions which encourage cooperation between Member States and regions in the Central and South-East Mediterranean area.
Archimed gives particular emphasis to the following objectives:
    Spatial planning, aiming at a polycentric and sustainable development;
    Access improvement to the European networks related to transport, energy and information;
    Improvement, conservation and promotion of the natural and cultural environment.

Participating countries

Malta is one of the EU Member States which are eligible to participate in the Archimed Programme together with Greece, Cyprus and the following five five regions in Italy: Sicily, Calabria, Basilicata, Puglia and Campania.  Third countries are also eligible to participate in such projects, however at their own expense. These are: Turkey, Lebanon, Syria-Gaza, Israel, Jordan, Egypt and Libya.

Selected Projects with Maltese Partners

Sixteen projects are currently being funded under the Archimed programme with Maltese partners.  Click here to view the list of projects funded under the Interreg IIIB Archimed Programme.


Malta's National Contact Point for the Archimed Programme is the Funds and Programmes Division, within the Office of the Prime Minister.  

Key documents, downloads and other information

Click on the following links to download the documents:

 News and Upcoming Events

Latest news on the Archimed Programme.

Further Information

 For further information on the Archimed Programme click here.