Sign In

General Composition of the LAG's

Malta is composed of 54 local councils while in Gozo there are 14. Out of these 68 local councils, only 47 rural communities were eligible to participate in the LEADER Programme whilst the remaining 21 localities were not eligible since they are within urban areas.

The following picture shows the territory of each Local Action Group according to local council. The villages and towns in orange are not within the territory of a Local Action Group because these are predominantly urban. 


Apart from local councils, LAGs are also made up from members coming from the private sector, civil society and other organisations within LAGs’ territory.

Contact Information:

 Contact Name 
Funds and Programmes Division
Triq il-Kukkanja
Santa Venera, SVR 1411

2200 1142

2200 1141